Skip To ContentSkip To Content

    The Beacon Hill International School (BHIS) PTA is comprised of a dedicated group of volunteers. Join the PTA Leadership team and lend your skills and enthusiasm to support and enhance our children’s education!

    The board of directors is comprised of the executive committee and all committee chairs as designated by the board. Executive committee members are the president, vice president, secretary, and treasurer. and are elected by a simple majority at a general membership meeting in the spring. Committee chairs are appointed by the president and approved by the executive committee at a board meeting.

    Any position may be co-chaired as provided in the PTA's Standing Rules. Positions are filled for a term of one year and commence on July 1. Individuals may be reappointed to a maximum of one additional term.

    Current PTA committee vacancies are highlighted as OPEN below and job descriptions are linked for each position. If you have questions about the roles and responsibilities of BHIS PTA Board positions, please contact any of the board members listed below.

    To get a head start review the Seattle Public Schools volunteer requirements and checklist.

    Board Members for 2017-2018

    Role Name
    Executive Board - Elected
    President Heather Hart 206-291-8144
    Vice President Carolyn Feng
    Secretary Ben Bergsten-Buret
    Treasurer Mara Wrede
    Other Board Members - Appointed
    Communications Erika Warner-Court
    Event Coordinator Jenn Bernert
      Meri Joswiak
    Membership Chairs Peter Ehrenkranz
      Callista Chen
    African American Family co-Liaisons
    Joe Clark
      Sebrina Somers
    Latino Family Liaison Rosa Castro
    Chinese Family co-Liaisons Emma Chan
      Sherry Cai
      Elaine Huang
      Xud Li Lu
    T-shirt sales coordinator Karin Bergsten-Buret
    Teacher/Staff appreciation Alli Howard
      Andres Mills Gallego
    Fundraising co-chairs Ivy Lim
      Wendy Lam
    Readathon Coordinator Karla Sugitani
    Walkathon Coordinator Shannon
      Justin Hunt
      Andrea and Ken Peer
    Grant Writing Peter Ehrenkranz
    Legislative Chair Shaji Philip
      Maria Philip
    Web Coordinator Ben Bergsten-Buret
    Yearbook Coordinator Carolyn Feng
    Teacher Liaison Andy Pickard
    Cashier OPEN
    East African Family Liaison OPEN